Campbell signs three-year deal with Reds

The Reds have locked promising speedster Jock Campbell into staying at Ballymore through to 2022.

Campbell had a break out season for the Reds in 2019, his first in the senior squad and was named the Reds Rookie of the Year at the end of their campaign.

The winger debuted against the Bulls in Pretoria in round nine and went on to play nine matches for the Reds this season, scoring two tries.

The 24-year-old said he was glad to be staying in Queensland for the long haul, having grown up there. 

“I am really excited to extend my time here at Ballymore,” Campbell said.

“Queensland is my home, so I am thrilled to have the opportunity to continue playing in front of my family and friends.

“I look forward to being a part of this special organisation for the next three years.”

Reds coach Brad Thorn said Campbell would be a valuable player for the side in years to come.

“It’s great to have Jock Campbell remain with us for another three years,” he said.

“Jock is a genuine product of the club Rugby system who’s come into our program and made the most of his opportunity.

“He was rewarded for his hard work when he made his Queensland debut this year in Africa. He went on to win our Rookie of the Year award which is a great achievement. We look forward to seeing Jock continue his development here at Queensland.”

Campbell joins a host of Reds to have signed or re-signed with the team for 2020 and beyond, many on long-term deals.

Prop Harry Hoopert has also added an extra year to his current contract, which ran until 2022, to keep him in Queensland through to 2023.


Recent St.George Queensland Reds re-signings

Harry Hoopert (2023)

Isaac Lucas (2023)

Izack Rodda (2023)

Harry Wilson (2023)

Fraser McReight (2023)

Tate McDermott (2023)

Angus Blyth (2023)

Taniela Tupou (2023)

Jock Campbell (2022)

Alex Mafi (2022)

Hamish Stewart (2022)

Jordan Petaia (2022)

Liam Wright (2021)

Angus Scott-Young (2021)

Bryce Hegarty (2021)

Brandon Paenga-Amosa (2021)

Feao Fotuaika (2021)

Chris Feauai-Sauita (2020)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *