Button to race in inaugural SRO Esport GT Series event

Jenson Button continues his exploration of the virtual world, with the 2009 F1 world champion racing in this Sunday’s maiden round of the new SRO Esport GT Series.

Button successfully tested the waters of online racing with participations in F1’s official Virtual Grand Prix Series and The Race’s Legends Trophy, even winning the latter’s inaugural round.

The 40-year-old semi-retired racer will compete in Sunday’s SRO event at Silverstone with a McLaren 720S GT3-spec car that he’ll share with former McLaren junior Ben Barnicoat.

    McLaren’s Norris gears up for IndyCar debut at COTA!

The SRO Esport GT Series will consist of four qualifying events and a deciding finale and will run on the Assetto Corsa Competizione platform, the official game of the Blancpain GT Series, which is developped by Kunos Simulazioni.

Qualifying rounds will feature three classes – Pro, Silver and Amateur – with each consisting of 12 competitors.

The field will bring together pro racers and a selection of top sim racers.

Among the high profile names set to take part in Sunday’s event, in addition to Button, are Mercedes works driver Raffaele Marciello, series champion Andrea Caldarelli, former F1 driver Vitantonio Liuzzi and F2 charger Luca Ghiotto.

But Haas junior and avid sim racer Louis Deletraz will also join in on the fun, driving one of six Porsche 991s entered in the event.

Sunday’s action will be streamed live from 12:45pm UK time (7:45am EST – 13:45pm CET) on the GT World YouTube channel as well as on the SRO Twitch and Facebook accounts.

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter

Click Here: Cheap France Rugby Jersey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *